THDC Institute of Hydro Power Engineering & Technology

THDC INDIA LIMITED has considerable presence in Hydro Sector in the State of Uttarakhand—1,000 MW (4 x 250) Tehri Dam and Power Plant is operational since 2006-07, another 200 MW of  400 MW (4×100) Koteshwar Hydro Electric Project has been commissioned in March 2011 and 1,000 MW Tehri Pumped Storage Plant is under construction.  In addition, various Hydro Projects in Bhagirathi, Alaknanda and Sarda basins are under various stages of development.  The Hydro potential in Uttarakhand is approximately 20178 MW out of which only 10-15% has been harnessed till now.  There is a need for Technical Institute for developing skilled technical manpower required for harnessing Hydro Power in the State of Uttarakhand in principle and in the country in general.
Looking into the required augmentation in the field of Hydro Sector, it was agreed by the Ministry of Power that THDCIL will establish a Technical Institute to impart instructions in various disciplines of Engineering with focus on Hydro Power.  The objective behind setting up of the Institute is to generate and create a pool of continuously upgraded skilled set of knowledge with special thrust on construction, Operation and Maintenance of Hydro Power stations. In line with this THDC has taken up construction of ‘THDC INSTITUTE OF HYDROPOWER ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY’ with requisite infrastructure as per AICTE norms, at Project site Tehri in an area of around 20 Acres.
Address : THDC Institute of Hydro Power Engineering & Technology, 
                 Bhagirathipuram, Tehri
                 Garhwal – 249001, Uttarakhand, India.
Phone No : +91- 7520596507, 9012343955 
Area :  20 Acres
Institution Type : Government
Year of Establishment : 2011
Recognition : AICTE ( All India Council Of Technical Education )                           
Affiliation : Uttaranchal Technical University
Entrance Test : AIEEE
Student Strenght :  240 Approx 
Web Address :
Email Address : 
                                 Courses Offered :
      Undergraduate Programme Bachelor of Technology ( Btech)
                  Civil Engineering 4 Years
                  Electrical Engineering 4 Years
                  Mechanical Engineeing 4 Years
                  Electronics & Communication Engineering